How to watch: World Cup #3 at Nové Město

The Cross Country World Cup season is in full swing and, just days after a thrilling race in Albstadt, the circus continues to roll on to Nové Město.

It’s the third round of the 2022 World Cup and there are already several stories playing out between the tapes. Will Nino Schurter finally beat Julien Absalon’s World Cup victory record? Will Tom Pidcock continue to drive the men’s elite? Can Rebecca McConnell continue to dominate elite women’s racing? Who will step in to get Canada back into the top 20 in the elite?

The elite races will be broadcast live on Red Bull TV all weekend from Friday’s XCC Short Track. See the full program below.

RELATED: Nové Město Course Preview with Holmgren and Fortier

Big crowds and big pitches at Nove Mesto in 2019. Photo: Bartek Wolinski/Red Bull Content Pool

The place: World Cup #3 – Nové Město na Moravě, Czech Republic

Always a favorite of the drivers, this year will see the fans return in force to Nové Město na Moravě. It’s no small thing in this iconic World Cup venue. With a huge grandstand lining the start and finish straight and thousands of fans lining the course through the woods, the crowds are a big part of what makes this event so special.

The course is another important factor, of course. Rooty, rocky and technical in places. Fast, fluid and filled with jumps in others. It is a well-rounded venue that challenges runners to excel in all aspects of racing. And, for 2022, organizers have a few course changes in store to keep riders on their toes.

Carter Woods
Carter Woods flies to victory at the 2021 UCI World Cup, Nové Město, Czech Republic. Photo: Andy Vathis

Canadians in Czech

Nové Město is a place where Canadians have excelled in the past. Haley Smith (Maxxis Factory Racing) made the podium in 2019. Emily Batty (Canyon MTB) finished fourth there the previous year.

Current XCO National Champion Jenn Jackson (Canyon MTB) is leading the Canadians to the World Cups. The Ontario racer finished 26th in Albstadt, with XCC national champion Sandra Walter (Liv) 30th in her first international appearance this year.

On the men’s side, Sean Fincham (Norco Factory Team) was in the top 10 twice in the Under-23s at Nové Město and looks set for a solid result after Albstadt. Gunnar Holmgren (Pivot Cycles-OTE) had the best Canadian elite men’s result this year, however, at his first elite World Cup race in Brazil.

Under 23 and Juniors

The Under-23 World Cup and UCI Junior Series races will not be broadcast live. It’s a shame, because that’s where Canada has some of its best chances of getting a big result this weekend.

Carter Woods (Norco Factory Team) won at Nové Město last year. The Vancouver Island racer finished seventh last weekend in Albstadt, and the Czech technical background better matches his strengths, so he’s set for another strong showing. Emilly Johnston, also from Vancouver Island and who was racing for Norco, finished 13th in Albstadt and continues to climb the ranks as well.

Among the juniors, Isabella Holmgren (Stimulus Orbea) finished 10th in Germany. His teammate, Marin Lowe, followed closely in 17th while Zorak Paillé (PG Racing) led the Canadian juniors in 31st.

Mathieu Van Der Poel dueled with Tom Pidcock at the start of the Nové Město Elite Men’s XCO in 2021. Photo: Bartek Wolinski / Red Bull Content Pool.

Broadcast Schedule: World Cup #3 – Nové Město, Czech Republic – May 13-15, 2022

For an additional year, the World Cup elite cross-country races in Nové Město will be broadcast live on Red Bull TV. Follow the Under-23 results live, but not streamed, on the UCI Race Hub.

May 6 – XCC World Cup #3

Elite Women’s XCC: 8:50 a.m. PST / 11:50 a.m. EST
Elite Men XCC: 9:45 a.m. PST / 12:45 p.m. EST

May 7 – U23 XCO World Cup and UCI Junior Series XCO (not broadcast)

Junior Men 00:15 PST / 3:15 EST
Junior Women 02:15 PST / 05:15 EST

Men’s Under-23 World Cup 06:00 PST / 09:00 EST
Women’s Under-23 World Cup 07:30 PST / 10:30 EST

May 8 – XCO World Cup #3

Elite Women XCO: 02:00 PST / 05:00 EST
Elite Men XCO: 6:00 a.m. PST / 9:00 a.m. EST

Comments are closed.