Football Black List 2021: Man Utd forward Marcus Rashford and specialist Alex Scott named to list

Rashford has received high praise for his off-field work around child food poverty

Manchester United and England striker Marcus Rashford has been named to a list of Britain’s most influential black footballers.

The annual football blacklist recognizes the efforts of black figures working in various areas of the game.

Rashford, 23, received huge praise for its off-field work around food poverty among the children.

Former Arsenal and England full-back Alex Scott, who presents Football Focus, is named to the media list.

Scott, 37, took over from Dan Walker as host of the show in May, becoming the first permanent host in the show’s 46-year history.

The Football Black List, first published in 2008, highlights black industry professionals who are positive influencers.

The names in the seven categories are decided by a panel of experts made up of representatives from the Premier League, the Professional Footballers ‘Association, the League Managers’ Association, the EFL and the anti-racist group Kick It Out.

Leon Mann, co-founder of Football Black List, said: “Black excellence in football is regularly talked about on the pitch – and we also want to help highlight the contribution of black leaders off the pitch in the sport.

“This list of influential game changers is a snapshot of the contribution of black communities to football.

“Those named today join an illustrious group that has been on the roster for the past decade, including Raheem Sterling, Ian Wright, Hope Powell, Rio Ferdinand, Herman Ouseley and Rachel Yankey.”

Rashford is joined on the roster by Anita Asante (Aston Villa), Cyrus Christie (Fulham), Ivan Toney (Brentford) and Nikita Parris (Arsenal).

While Tottenham boss Nuno Espirito Santo is joined on the coach and manager list by Sheffield Wednesday’s Darren Moore.

The complete list:


  • Anita Asante, Aston Villa Women
  • Cyrus Christie, Fulham
  • Ivan Toney, Brentford
  • Marcus Rashford, Manchester United and England
  • Nikita Parris, Arsenal Women and England


  • Dayne Matthieu, Safeguard and Welfare Officer, Tottenham Hotspur
  • Fleur Robinson, Managing Director, Wrexham
  • Paul Monekosso Cleal, Equality Advisor, Premier League
  • Sarah Ebanja, Managing Director, Tottenham Hotspur Foundation
  • Steve Smithies, Managing Director, Cheshire FA

Coaching and Management:

  • Darren Moore, Director, Sheffield Wednesday
  • Justin Cochrane, Head of Player Development, Manchester United
  • Nuno Espirito Santo, Director, Tottenham Hotspur
  • Paul Hall, Under-23 Head Coach, QPR; Deputy Director, Jamaica
  • William Boye, President and Director, Ashford Town Women and Girls’ FC


  • Claudia Wilmot, Director of Operations, Leaders in Sport
  • Gus Hurdle, Executive Producer, EA Sports
  • Javan Odegah, Strategic Account Director, Leaders in Sport
  • Remmie Williams, Commercial Director, The FA
  • Simbi Sonuga, Senior Account Manager, Octagon

Community and base:

  • Andrew Laylor, Head of School Partnership – Manchester United Foundation
  • Aneequa Prescod-Wright, coach, Hackney Laces FC
  • Billy Grant, English fan / podcast / blogger, Beesotted
  • Jawahir Roble, Football Coach and Referee, Jason Roberts Foundation
  • Patsy Andrews, base referee, the FA


  • Amy Allard-Dunbar, Youth Panel Education Manager, Football v Homophobia


  • Ade Oladipo, presenter, DAZN / talkSPORT / Sky Sports
  • Alex Scott, presenter, Football Focus
  • Andrew Spence, series producer, Unpublished
  • Fadumo Olow, Sports Social Media Writer, The Telegraph
  • Helen Campbell, Multi-Camera Director, Premier League Productions


  • Aji Ajibola, referee, FA Council
  • Daniel Mills, educator, Show Racism the Red Card
  • Drew Christie, President, BCOMS
  • Jackie Ferdinand, Director of Safeguarding and Inclusion, West Ham United
  • Liz Ward, Director of Programs, Stonewall FC

Everything you need to know about your Premier League team bannerBBC Sport banner footer

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.